BURNING MY BOAT

And surrendering to the land.

You’ve most likely heard that little old parable before, the one in which the warriors arrive on the island and burn their boats so they are forced to stay and fight because they have no other alternative. They must fight and win or die trying. There’s no turning back.

Joshua Milburn – “Screw you, I quit”

So Joshua got me thinking. I had burned my boat on February 4, 2011.

I appreciated Joshua’s account of the terms on which he left his day job because it was much more in line with the terms in which I left mine. I’ve read so many contrary articles about people who were just suffering under such terrible WRATH of their Boss on the day they quit that it was this epic, monumental STRIKE! They quit feeling elated and leave with pride pouring out their pores and their stapler (or the Company’s) in their pocket.

I was the opposite. I liked my job… which made it monumentally harder. I personally told everyone one-on-one that I was leaving (it was a small team). They took it better than I did. In some instances, I cried. Then again, there was definitely fear in the mix because, in my leaving, I was taking a HUGE leap of faith. I held a lot of faith (but more potently, passion) for what I was about to do in Ecuador, but it’s always challenging to choose an alternative lifestyle design for yourself. Additionally, I wasn’t suffering from my Boss’ wrath or any other. Sure it was prickly at times, but I left with a full head and an even fuller heart and I have only my co-workers to thank for that. I am also blessed by the continuing support I get from them and through contacts I met while working there.

Hopping to the next stepping stone is scary because you don’t know if it’s solid or if it’s going to move and send you face-down into the river. If you think about this, you will never cross. Jonathan Mead has some really good insight into this in his article “Liberate Your Life”.

I think falling in the river is only inevitable if you think it’s inevitable (…Just because it has happened to you before does NOT make it inevitable!) Instead of fearing the small possibility of falling in the river therefore not crossing altogether, focus on the fact that water dries, and sure, you might cut yourself on the rocks or smell like stank pond water, but it will all make for a better Show & Tell when you recount the story to your friends later.

Comments
One Response to “BURNING MY BOAT”
  1. Congrats to you. Thanks for the mention. I’m glad you enjoyed the essay (and you certainly got the point).

    Take care,

    Joshua Millburn

Leave a comment